Year in Reading: 2012

31Dec12

Time for my annual year in reading round-up. I’m not going to go in a lot of detail this year, just notice some trends and recommend worthy new fiction.

First the grand total of books read this year (not counting children’s books read aloud to my son, audiobooks or abandoned books): 54! I’ve finally passed the 50-book mark, and I am reading on average a book a week.

Why has my reading increased? A lot of it is due to the Kindle I got for Christmas last year. I have been reading more because I always have a book with me, rather than forgetting it by my bedside. And I am not just reading short books and singles either. This year I started and finished the entire Game of Thrones series to date, which probably adds up to about 4,000 pages by itself.

Here is a short list of new fiction published this past year that I have read and would recommend reading:

  • Tenth of December: Stories by George Saunders (actually to be published in January 2013)
  • The Twelve by Justin Cronin (the sequel to The Passage)
  • Telegraph Avenue by Michael Chabon
  • The Long Earth by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter
  • The Wind Through the Keyhole by Stephen King (a Dark Tower book)

My biggest disappointment of the year was Arcadia by Lauren Groff, a highly anticipated and rated book that I simply could not engage with. It is 2012′s A Visit from the Goon Squad, so most people other than me will probably like it.

No Responses Yet to “Year in Reading: 2012”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 809 other followers

