2013: Year in Review

01Jan14

Here’s my annual wrap-up post. I officially read 45 books in 2013. I think that’s a respectable number, but this year I’m striving for 50 or more.

These were the overall top 5 books I read in 2013 (not counting rereads):

  1. The Illustrated Man by Ray Bradbury
  2. Joyland by Stephen King
  3. Assumption by Percival Everett
  4. The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters
  5. World War Z by Max Brooks

Looking just at new fiction published in 2013, these were my favorite reads (listed in the order that I read them):

Now, dishonorable mentions–my least favorite books read this year:

It must have been a good reading year, if there were only 4 books on my dishonorable mention list!

Books read by genre:

  • Science fiction–apocalyptic: 9
  • Science fiction–aliens and other planets: 7
  • Historical fiction: 5
  • Science fiction–dystopian: 4
  • Suspense-thriller: 3
  • Children’s chapter books: 3 (read to my son)
  • Fantasy: 2
  • Ghost stories: 2
  • Mystery/Crime: 2
  • Short story collections: 2
  • Graphic novels and comics: 2
  • Horror: 1
  • Literary fiction: 1
  • Science fiction–alternate history: 1
  • Science fiction–miscellaneous: 1
No Responses Yet to “2013: Year in Review”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 806 other followers

