The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

815D5sneiNL._SL1500_You’re not destined or chosen, I wish I could tell you that you were if that would make it easier, but it’s not true. You’re in the right place at the right time, and you care enough to do what needs to be done. Sometimes that’s enough.

What it’s about: Set in a wandering circus in a fantasy of the Victorian era, two master magicians pit their young proteges against each other in deadly competition.

Why I liked it: This was a simply lovely book, so carefully crafted that the images became fully formed in my mind. I felt quite enchanted as I was reading this, which is appropriate since this is a book about enchantment. Also, how refreshing it is to read a book where most of the characters are essentially good and likable, set in a place that is so essentially positive and welcoming, magical and like home all at the same time. How wonderful to imagine it might be real. I hope someone very good makes a movie out of this (Tim Burton perhaps?), as I would love to see these images brought to life.

Who might like this book: Fans of Neil Gaiman or Jo Walton.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s